Daily Post Writing Prompt: Connect the Dots – Degree Relationships

The Daily Post in a post today challenged many of us to find the nearest book, open it to page 82, and take the 3rd full sentence and somehow make it into a worthy post… Let me see what I can do.

The nearest book to me was Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace. Opened to the 82nd page, the third full sentence reads out:

Besides, Cyril Vladimirovich is my mother’s second cousin.

This has no apparent connection to music at all, but in my case, there is a slight connection to music. If you already don’t know, I come from a line of various musicians and composer/arrangers. In fact that is still true to the point today. My first cousins are very into music both listening and into learning an instrument. My uncles all knew something about playing an instrument, a various guitarist here and a saxophonist there. There is me, who is both a composer and arranger and is well known in my musical community as someone who puts music before other things, respectively.

What seems very remarkable is that in my family tree, a lot of my mother’s second cousins are in fact well known musicians. They all have renounding jobs in the musical field and probably famous. Let’s not stop there. I have spent more more than five years researching my family tree and have found many remarkable things, including distant connections to most famous virtuousos and composers of classical music:

Did you know that Franz Liszt is my 11th cousin; 6 times removed’s ex-partner, Frederic Chopin is my 11th cousin 6 times removed’s ex-partner, how Ludwig van Beethoven is my third cousin 8 times removed’s husband’s nephew’s wife’s uncle’s wife’s uncle’s wife’s nephew’s wife’s ex-partner, and how Edvard Grieg is my 17th cousin 6 times removed?

*actually I am only directly related to Edvard Grieg, Liszt, Chopin and Beethoven are related to me only by in-laws*

So how the hell did I calculate this?

Geni.com is a innovative genelogical website that encourages you to research your ancestors. You see, everyone is related to eachother and by everyone connection to this big family tree composed of over millions and millions of people, you are destined to have relation to almost anyone. You have to do your own researching though, no easy peesie!

Heck, you might even be related to me!

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Post Writing Prompt: Connect the Dots – Degree Relationships

  1. Simply want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is simply spectacular and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed
    to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please
    continue the enjoyable work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

