Top Five Favorite Pieces of Music

It’s that time of the year, where I get to finally showcase in my opinion, the top five greatest pieces of music that have gotten attention over the past year. Now this little list here doesn’t reflect the music of 2014, it simply shows the top five pieces of music that I have grown to liking. All pieces of music on here are well over 100 years old, so this sounds very odd to make a list about my favorite pieces of music that were written over 100 years ago. This is the “Young Timer” music blog, so I (a young person) will be talking a lot about music from long ago. Read the about page if you still don’t understand.

Number 5

Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini – Sergei Rachmaninoff

I picked this piece of music first of all I am a huge Rachmaninoff fan and secondly, the famous “Variation 18” is one of the greatest pieces of music ever written. The melody embodies all things musical and amazing. It should deserve a higher ranking on this list, but there are other pieces that knock this out of the ball park.

This may be a little biased towards the piano, so be warned.

Number 4

Waltz in A Minor, Op. Posthumous – Fredrick Chopin

This piece grabbed my attention recently as I was searching sporadically for new music to learn and play. I went to the public library and checked out a book including all of Chopin’s Waltzes. This piece is one of my favorite Chopin pieces, but there are still more out there.

Number 3

La Campanella – Paganini/Liszt

Played by non other than Valentina Lisitsa, La Campanella is a hefty song to learn. I certainly do remember struggling when learning this piece. You are literally jumping left to right on one hand playing the tonic on the right while simultaneously playing a melody whilst the left hand plays accompaniment It sounds like a bell ergo, “La Campanella” “The little bell.”

Number 2

Piano Sonata No. 8, Op. 13 “Pathetique” – Ludwig van Beethoven

I absolutely love this piece. I first got into this piece when a good friend of mines started to play this piece sporadically. That made me want to play it, and master it. Eventually I did so.

Number 1

Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 18 – Sergei Rachmaninoff

By far my most favorite piece and the greatest piece of music ever written in the history of history. I tried to attempt to play this piece, but it was very difficult. That won’t stop me of course 🙂 I literally listen to this piece maybe four times a day. It’s like some drug, and I am addicted to Rachmaninoff. (Hmm, that may be a title of a new post…)

Well, that wraps up the top five pieces of music for 2014. I hope these same songs won’t show up, but I have a feeling one of them or maybe two will show up.

Until next time!

One thought on “Top Five Favorite Pieces of Music

Leave a Reply

