Contemporary vs. Classical

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Agree to Disagree.”

Often as it happens, there are way more people existence that would rather listen to some other type of music than the music of my own. I have yet to meet anyone who shares my exact music preferences who also is my age. I know you are out there, I can almost feel it.

I am often in constant feuding with those who don’t share my musical liveliness, especially some of my younger family members. I grew up pretty much in the same predicament as they did; same type neighborhood, same economic situations, same everything. Regardless of this, there is always a “war of music” every time music is discussed:

Them: My music is way better than your boring classical.

(A direct attack!)

Me: You actually think that your music is better? When was the last time your songs actually focused on something positive for once?

(I am noting that most of contemporary music promotes bad treatment of women, drug abuse, and violence)

Them: You know nothing about my music, my music expresses all of our problems.

Me: We are all taught to respect all types of music, but when a song is so impressionable on our youth it actually starts to shape their lives into immorality, that’s when It goes too far. Listening to such music actually damages you. You really don’t understand such damage because that’s what you incorporate as “normal”.

The conversation often stops as “they” get too tired of what’s been said.

As well as you know here, I am not a big fan of today’s so-called music. I wouldn’t even call it music. I’m not saying that all of contemporary music is total and complete crap, people are still making great music and I applaud you for that. I don’t want to single any “artist” out and call him or her out, that’s not for me to do.

In general, most contemporary songs are products of the music industry that pay hefty amounts of money for the next best hit to ween the crowds to in turn pay for the song on platforms so that they get royalties. There is no “expressiveness nor feel” in any song today that makes it last. That is often why music never lasts. People forget about it and move onto the next piece of crap that comes flying their way. .

One thought on “Contemporary vs. Classical

  1. I’m more than happy to discover this page. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every bit of it and i also have you bookmarked to look at new information in your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

